KCJS :Kyoto Consortium for Japanese Studies

About Us

KCJS at a Glance

KCJS began as the Kyoto Center for Japanese Studies in the fall of 1989 as a consortium of nine American universities. It changed its name to the Kyoto Consortium for Japanese Studies in 2006 and now consists of 13 member institutions. KCJS is administered jointly by a full time staff based in Kyoto in collaboration with Columbia University’s Center for Undergraduate Global Engagement and a full-time staff based in Kyoto.

As “home” to 30 students on average each semester, KCJS takes pride in providing our students with an optimal and culturally rich learning environment in which they can take advantage of the program’s deep, meaningful ties with various networks in Kyoto. Mornings are spent in intensive Japanese language classes targeted at the student’s appropriate level, from second- to fourth-year Japanese and above. Studying elective courses in the afternoon is an opportunity to explore areas of the students’ own interest or specialization, experience life in Kyoto through field trips, and make friends with local Japanese students. During the academic year, qualified Doshisha and Kyoto University students may enroll for credit in the afternoon elective courses taught by KCJS instructors.

In a small program, KCJS students can form strong bonds with each other and staff/faculty. Moreover, they can become part of KCJS alumni network with over 1,600 people after completing the program. KCJS alumni have entered a multitude of fields and many have ventured across the globe after completing their undergraduate and, in many cases, graduate or professional studies. The students can make connections with them through the alumni panel discussions or through KCJS staff.

KCJS member institutions are:
Boston University, Brown University, University of Chicago, Columbia University/Barnard College, Cornell University, Emory University, Harvard University, University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, Stanford University, Washington University in St. Louis, Yale University, and University of Virginia.